top of page

Yearning For A Cure: A Child’s Story About Overcoming Cancer

We are all aware that October is dedicated for Breast Cancer Awareness month. Did you know that September is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month? Chances are, in most cases, unless you have a child or know of one fighting a cancer diagnosis you may not.

Childhood cancer isn’t limited to one disease, and is far from a “cookie-cutter” type diagnosis. Children who are diagnosed with childhood cancer can be diagnosed with over are dozens upon dozens of childhood cancer and subtypes. Each one requires its own research and treatment development that is best for every child.

In the U.S. more children will die of childhood cancer than asthma, AIDS, cystic fibrosis, congenital anomalies, and diabetes combined. Over 13,000 children will be diagnosed with childhood cancer in the U.S. and worldwide the numbers reach a staggering 175,000. This is one child’s personal journey of overcoming childhood leukemia and how he is battling back against childhood cancer.

“I was 8 when I got cancer.”

Meet Anthony, a child who at the age of 8 was diagnosed with leukemia in 2011. Now age 11, he is currently in remission, but his battle with cancer has been a long and hard one. Spread the message about childhood cancer awareness so that these tiny warriors diagnosed with childhood cancer can fight without fear.

“At first, I didn’t know what was wrong. I didn’t feel good, and I was tired all the time. I didn’t have the energy to play, and my Mom was really worried. She thought that maybe I was coming down with something.

Sometimes at night I would cough so bad I couldn’t sleep, and then I would start to throw up, even though I hadn’t eaten much during the day. My mom said that I started to look funny too; real skinny but I had a big belly. I hurt all the time.

She took me to the Dr. and he ran some tests and took my blood. It hurt a little, but my baby sister was in the room and I didn’t want her to see me cry. We went home and I didn’t have to go back to school.

I don’t remember much, except for my Mom crying. She said the Dr. had gotten my test results in and she said I had something called leukemia. I didn’t know what it was, and my mom said I was really sick, and that we would have to go to the hospital. I was scared because I didn’t want to leave my mom or my dad. My mom had just had a baby and Dad had sat down with me and told me that my job as a big brother was to look out for my sister.

bottom of page