top of page

Yearning For A Cure: One Woman’s Battle with Breast Cancer

Breast cancer is a serious diagnosis that is plaguing women. The American Cancer Society estimates that 232,000 women will be diagnosed this year, and 40,000 cases will become fatal. However, there is hope. There are over 2.8 million breast cancer survivors in the United States. October is well-known as Breast Cancer Awareness month and pink seems to have taken over each and every city. Breast cancer awareness activities have been scheduled, from walks to fundraisers, and those who have breast cancer, survivors, and friends and family flock to these events to show their support.

Breast cancer can begin with lumps that form tumors, and depending on the stage of cancer it may spread to surrounding areas of the body or lymph nodes. It’s important for women to understand the importance of yearly mammograms and self-exams at home to catch breast cancer in its earliest stage to combat this deadly diagnosis that has claimed so many lives.

Innovations in technology have made treatments much more effective. The earliest account of breast cancer was discovered in Egypt with the help of ancient manuscripts. The breasts would be removed with the limited resources available. In present day, breast cancer is treated with removal of the lumps or tumor along with radiation, and in some cases chemotherapy. The survival rate for breast cancer patients has significantly increased.

“I went in for my yearly mammogram, but I was thinking of all the things I could have been doing instead.”

Meet Rosa, a mother of three who has won her battle against breast cancer. She went in for her routine mammogram, and what they found was anything but. This is her story.

“The girls had to be picked up, I still had dinner to make, and I was working on an important project with a deadline coming up soon. Little did I know that my life was about to change after that visit.

My mammogram concerned my Doctor, who scheduled a short-term follow-up. I had no history of breast cancer in my family, I rarely drank, and considered myself to be in pretty great shape, but I went ahead and agreed to the follow up. I didn’t think there was anything wrong with me.

After my four month mammogram, I was told I needed a biopsy as there was a suspicious tumor in my right breast. Two weeks after my biopsy the results were in – I had breast cancer. My husband and family urged me to act swiftly, for both my sake and the sake of my children. I had limited surgery to remove the tumor, and began treatment to kill any lingering cancerous.

I am now cancer free, and thanks to the treatments available and the help of my radiation oncologist. My friends and family have supported me and I could not be more thankful for this second chance at life. October will forever hold a special place in my heart as a breast cancer survivor.

bottom of page